Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Replacing lifters, easiest way

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2011, 01:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Replacing lifters, easiest way

Is it possible to replace the lifters, without removing the head?
Looking for the easiest cheapest way possible. I have heard from some you have to remove the head period, and some guys say you can get it done without.

What do you all say? Anybody here done it?
Old 07-27-2011, 01:19 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: The venerable 4.0

Originally Posted by briansgarage
No.
Old 07-27-2011, 12:07 PM

Well shoot.. I was afraid of that..
How hard is it to do? I have never done anything like that before.
What parts am I going to need to get the job done?
Old 07-27-2011, 12:15 PM
CF Veteran

Medium hard. More like moe advanced. It isn't doing a tune up or changing u-joints. You can do it! If you've never.done it before go slow, take pictures on your .phone to make sure you get things back right, buy a chilton or haynes and follow he directions. You have to be careful about lubrication when you put new liters on an older cam. It can be done but you want to make sure out put lots of break in lube on them. If I were you and I was going that far I would change the cam to a little higher performance one too! On parts you need intake gasket valve cover gasket put a new t-stat in, head gasket..... think that's it... don't think I left anything out. It's always q good idea to buy new intake/exhaust bolts.

Last edited by Slick761; 07-27-2011 at 12:17 PM.
Old 07-27-2011, 12:27 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: 4.0 H.O. K&N, Borla headers, custom down pipe, magnaflow hi-flo cat, flowmaster to turn down tip