Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Improving Fuel Economy (performace chips)

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2009, 12:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 L
Default Improving Fuel Economy (performace chips)

I am new to the Cherokee, and am hoping to get better fuel economy. I installed a K&N air filter, and have seen an immediate decrease of 2 mpg. Hopefully the computer just needs to learn what to do with all the extra air.

Has anyone tried using a performance chip? Other ideas...perhaps new exhaust. I am not looking to break the bank. Thanks!!!!

16.5 mpg on hwy @ 65 mph.
Old 01-02-2009, 12:53 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

no chip out there that i have found for economy. but things to do is take out every thing u don't need in the car to reduce wight (ie. tools, spare, extra **** in trunk), reduce drag ( remove roof rack, put covering ova vents in grill, off road lights, deflector to direct air under your front axel. also can incresse air pressure
( but wears tires faster)

have u one a compleate tune up? plugs, fluid change (oil, dif, tranny, tc)
Old 01-02-2009, 01:06 PM

Year: 1998

My Jet chip helped some with power but not with fuel economy..I still get around 15/16 MPG
Old 01-02-2009, 01:20 PM
Seasoned Member

that cuz jet = performance chip
Old 01-02-2009, 01:41 PM

Originally Posted by xer0
have u one a compleate tune up? plugs, fluid change (oil, dif, tranny, tc)
It is still pretty new to me. Got it in November. The 60k maintenance is around the corner, so I plan on doing oil, fluid in transmission, transfer case, front and rear axle and the other stuff listed.

I just did a new air filter (old one was pretty clean but paper) and all the spark plugs. I had a misfire, checked them out and they were ready...