Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2011, 11:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 i6
Default rough country 4.5" x series review

well today i installed this kit on a customers xj (ntwonline $799)

keep in mind i am a professional and am trying to help out the everyday backyard guy...

pro's: very complete kit included full rear leafs,
-quick discos (not the fanciest but i have them personally and they are far more user friendly then many pricier ones and if you have the jks ones you know not all have brackets to hang them up on, but these do),
- adj. track bar,
-trans drop,
-adj. upper and lower ca's with joints (rebuildable)
-coils,
-nitro shocks,and
-stainless brake hoses f/r (nice touch for a more inexpencive lift)....

con:-track bar was not the greatest thing (i bought the HD one that rough country sells with the bracket for my own xj, expected that with the kit)
-for a driveway "diy" guy they really need better directions even though it is pretty straight forward.
-the powdercoat on the control arms had gotten into the threads for the joints to screw into.i had to use a pipe cleaner style wire brush to clean out the threads (don't try to force past it)
-transfer case drop was cheesy only gave 4 little pucks and bolts and no linkage drop
-would have liked to have gotten a stabilizer included but i bought the rc one for like $30 and its pretty beefy

overall on the kit:

great kit for the money definatly will serve a dd/weekend warrior well,the fit and finish was good, not fantastic, but good. (no torches or welder required) rear springs are a little stiff. (flex could be better but some better shackes might help) drives good one the street not to squishy on anything.all and all i will be putting this kit in again i'm sure. it is worth buying over the cheaper 1/2 kits sold for $300-$500 that don't come with all the parts needed to be right. 7 out of 10 overall... 9 of 10 bang for buck
Old 03-30-2011, 01:29 AM

Year: 98