Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

98 Sport Loss of power/power surge problems

Old 09-27-2010, 04:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 98 Sport Loss of power/power surge problems

i have a 98 XJ sport. I've been having an annoying loss of power when i press the gas pedal followed by a sudden surge of power sometimes....if i punch it it respondes better but... from a stop boggs alot doesn't stall but really boggy and i can here what sounds like a pop or loud tap from up front almost like a backfire...someone told me that it may have been my cat converter since it was already rattlin it may have been clogged. changed it and exhaust from there back ...same problem occuring...ne incite from u xj guys would be appriciated.....i love both my XJs.. b ut im new to workin around em bought both mine this year...thanks for the help
Old 12-15-2010, 08:29 AM

Year: 98
Engine: 4.0L S6

I'm having the exact same problem with my 98 cherokee. Mine will fall to 100-200 rpms when I stop at lights and sometimes stall, soymetimes surge back up to normal idle. To get it to move after stopping, I basically have to floor it until I get to around 40mph or it will jerk and surge me all over the place! I know exactly what you mean with the popping sound but sometimes mine will slam and start moving normally after as if I revved it up and dropped it into gear. I've replaced the crank shaft sensor, map sensor and idle air control valve and none have helped. I also had the fuel pressure checked which was normal. Did you find a solution to your problem? I've read something about backing screws out on the ECM and will try that tonight to see if that works.
Old 12-15-2010, 12:20 PM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0