Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-14-2015, 03:34 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Brake Guides
Print Wikipost

Tips on replacing hard brake line ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012, 08:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Tips on replacing hard brake line ?

Broke all the hard line adding longer brake hoses due to rust. I have never done this job before. I rented the flare tool, and tips ? I read some where that a tubing cutter as the action will "harden" the end and make flaring more difficult ? Any thoughts... Thanks
Old 01-26-2012, 08:24 PM
Old Skewl CF like a Sir

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L High Output OBDII

Well you need to cut the end off to get a good cone-shaped flare. The kit should have a tube cutting tool included. Start with very light pressure, and as you rotate the cutter, slowly apply more pressure on the blade by twisting the adjustment handle more. This will give you a nice clean cut.

As for flairing - I usually get roughly 1/8" or less of tube in the vice, then TIGHTEN it down firmly.

MAKE SURE you have the nut ALREADY on the tube too, you can't put it on after the flair.

Watch and go slowly. As you put the cone into the tube, and rotate the tool so it clasps onto the vice, keep an eye on the flair tool, make sure its standing up straight. Then just slowly work the tool downwards into the vice, creating the flair.

Always check, re-check and double check your work when done. Make sure the flair creates a nice, uniform flange around the nut before you attach it to the brake hose. Then check the heck out of it for leaks. Brakes are the last place anyone needs to cut corners.
Old 01-27-2012, 07:30 AM
CF Veteran